802.11n and 802.11ac channels naming conventions

LizardSystems Wi-Fi Scanner uses the following naming convention for 802.11n and 802.11ac channels.

802.11n Channels

802.11n used a basic channel width of 20 MHz with the ability to bond two channels into a 40 MHz channel.

20 MHz channels are referenced by their channel number.

40 MHz channel is pair of 20 MHz channels (one 20 MHz primary channel, with a secondary channel above or below) is referenced in several ways:

  • Primary 36 channel with secondary 40 channel: Channel 36, +1 or Channel 36+40.
  • Primary 40 channel with secondary 36 channel: Channel 40, -1 or Channel 40-36.

Starting from version 4.0, LizardSystems Wi-Fi Scanner uses a short form of 802.11n channel names (e.g. 36,+1 or 40,-1).

802.11ac Channels

802.11ac uses 80 MHz and 160 MHz bandwidths while still supporting 20 and 40 MHz channels.

802.11ac channels are referenced by their channel number center.

In addition, 802.11ac provides for 160 MHz channels to be constructed from non-contiguous 80 MHz channels.There are thirteen ways to bond two non-contiguous 80 MHz channels.

802.11ac 160 (80+80) MHz channels are referenced by two channel number centers separated by coma e.g. 42,106 or 106,138.

May 03, 2018

Similar articles

Product Info
Nov. 25, 2022
Fully-featured 10-day trial